Thursday, January 7, 2016

Legs crossed and 52 pounds down

I am sitting waiting to get my hair cut. This is my first hair cut since surgery (actually it's been around 7-8 months since my last cut). Nothing fancy; just trimming and thinning. The fancy thing will come next week when I get a new color on the under side of my hair. There will be pictures of that.
As I sit here, I comfortably have my legs crossed. This is not the first time I've done this but it is still strange for it to be comfortable.
This is a wonderful NSV to have.

I have also noticed that I cross my arms more often than I used to. A friend of mine who had the same surgery in May says she does it too because her boobs aren't in the way like they were before. Mine still get in the way, but I'm okay with them; we've become pals.

I had a scale victory today as well. I am officially 52 pounds down since surgery. Fifty pounds was my first major goal so my reward will be purchasing a fitness tracker this week. I will post about that when it arrives and I've had some time to use it.
I feel amazing. I still wear a 2x in most shirts, but some I can wear a 1x. My boobs are rather large so I'm not sure how quickly I will drop shirt sizes. I also have much to lose in the belly area. I wear around a size 18 pants - down from a size 26. I also find that I am wearing more girly things more often because I feel great in them.

I have been out the majority of the day running errands. I struggle with getting fluids and food in when I am out and about. I brought my water bottle with me and drank most of it. I ended up grabbing a few things while out (string cheese, almonds, protein shake, hummus) and I'll have some chicken when I get home. I did a lot of driving and there was no reason I couldn't have been sipping on a protein shake or munching on protein snacks.

I start a new college semester on Monday. I already know that, for one of my classes, I need to complete 5 hours of volunteering. I hope my schedule changes back to 8-hour days sooner rather than later to help get everything in. I had an interview on Tuesday for a position in a different department. It will be a better position for my career as well as for my health. I will find out about that position next week.
Currently, I work full time (4 10-hour days) and take classes part time (3 classes this semester to keep up with financial aid requirements).
Oh, the joys of being an adult.

I purchased 4 bottles of the Torani sugar free syrups to use in protein shakes. I purchased them at World Market. I am excited to utilize some of the recipes and flavor ideas I have found on Pinterest.
My other errands consisted of purchasing my textbooks for the semester, getting adjusted at my chiropractor's office, shopping at Costco, buying a pair of pants at Goodwill, and visiting my boyfriend's brother.
Yes, I shop at Goodwill periodically. No, I don't agree with the amount of money the company CEO makes. My local shops have a reward program that I signed up for. As quickly as I am going through sizes, it is worth it for me to shop at thrift shops. I do shop other places than Goodwill. This one just happened to be a couple of doors down from my hair salon.

Time for me to sign off. I am off to do some more shopping at our local grocery store, unload my car from all the shopping I've done today, and get some rest for more shopping tomorrow. I love having a couple of weekdays off!

No comments:

Post a Comment